New Rider - Need Big Shoes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2008

New Rider - Need Big Shoes

I am so glad I saw this forum. I am 6'05" 230 pounds and wear size 15 street shoes. I went to a bike shop and they told me I take size 50 bike shoe. Where can i find size 50 shoes?

I am just getting into biking after a running knee injury. My doctor told me to ride for strength training and cross-training. I have a 2004 Trek Fuel 90 that I bought used in 2005 and never really did anything with. They suggested a pair of Shimano M122

If anyone has a shoe suggestion for me I would appreciate it. Are the Shimano M122 shoes any good?

Bob

Jul 2007
    Bob

I wear a size 14 street shoe and the only mountain shoe that I have found that fits is the Sidi Dominator - size 49 for my foot. They are very comfortable shoes but also on the expensive size. Before the Sidi I tried a pair of size 14 Cannondales but they were only 14's in label - really about size 13. Not many other manufacturers make anything over 48 and if they do, finding a distributor that stocks them can be tough.

Let me know if you do find something other than the Sidi in large sizes, I would like a second pair of shoes.

RH

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    A locla bike shop in Los Altos, CA ordered a pair of Shimano M122 in size 50 for me. I don't know how they will fit but I can post after I try them on once they come in if you like.

mtbr member
    I'm size 50, sidi dominators have been the best cycling shoe I've ever had, they even go up to size 52. I have also had lake mx101's in the past, not sure if they still make them up to 50..

edit: and when my wife gives me grief over my $200+ sidi's, I always have the excuse that they are the only ones that come in my size!
    Last edited by markymark; 04-29-2008 at 10:35 PM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    Go with the Sidi. Your feet will thank you. The shimano shoes are not very wide.
    Buy once cry once.

Mar 2007
    i think pearl has some large sizes as well.