New rider with a helmet question- Mtbr.com

Mar 2006

New rider with a helmet question

I just bought my first bike today, a Trek 3500. I know it is nothing special, but as a poor college student, I cant afford anything nicer! I primarily bought it to go to classes, but there are some trails around here that I would like to ride. Anyway, I was wondering about helmets. Do I really need to spend any more than $20-$40 on one? Any particular brands/models to buy or stay away from? I appreciate any help you guys can give me! Thanks!

ride hard take risks
    You need a helmet, simple. You dont need to spend a arm & leg on one. You should be able to go the the LBS & find one on sale for $25-35 easy.

3 pages of ideas
    http://www.jensonusa.com/store/sub/229-Helmets.aspx

Nov 2004
    As far as I'm concerned for your type of riding a helmet is a helmet is a helmet. My LBS sells some nice Giro helmets for $30. When you get into the more expensive helmets you are talking about more vents, lighter materials, and more complex anatomy all around. All helmets have to pass the same safety requirements, regardless of price. Good luck with your search,

brderj

mtbr member
    As the other said, $30-$40 is definately a possibility. Key factor is that it fits properly. Look for last years closeouts which quite often are the "old" colors, and try several different brands. Giros fit my head well. Bells pinch on the front/rear. Everyones noggin is shaped different.

TJ

Never worng!

I'm too lazy to look it up

So you'll just have to take my word on this -
    Some research safety outfit that tests helmets said that if it carries the CPSC rating
    they found the $15 helmets were just as good, if not better than some helmets costing $175.

They also said the expensive helmets with those pointy turbo looking ports on the back
    could contribute to additional injury in a tumbling fall.

Performance, Nashbar and others are having a clearance sale on helmets in the $20 range.