New Helmet CAM - Need some help/advise- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2005

New Helmet CAM - Need some help/advise

I'm new to riding on the trails this year, so excuse my lack of ability on the bike. I've been a roadie for a while, and running for over 26 years. BUT, I'm having a blast!! The two other riders in the video have much more trail experience than I do, so I chose to ride in the back to learn by watching.

I recently purchased one of these ATC-2K's from Oregon Scientific, just for fun. I don't intend on making quality production video's, so no hard time about the grainy quality, and I don't plan on spending any more than the $90+. This "toy" is just for me and my group of riders to "have some fun."

I would like some recommendations on how I could keep the helmet cam from bouncing as much as it is in my FIRST VIDEO attached here. I'm using the standard rubber pad under the mount along with the velcro strap through the helmet. It seems to loosen up as the ride went on. I've read that some have used a "foam" block under the mount? Would that make a considerable difference?

Thanks for the recommendations.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vDmQXGQCaH4

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Did you shoot that at 15 frames per second? Use 30 as it will help. If you can get a wideangle lens for it (some cameras allow a screw-in lens), that will help. Since the lipstick style cameras usually do not have any image stabilization, so that is working against you.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005

30 Fps

No, that is 30 Frames per second, but when you convert the original video from .avi format to .mpg format for Youtube, you lose some/a bunch of quality. I'm only asking about the camera "bounce" that you can see as I'm moving over roots, rocks, holes, etc.

I don't want to "tighten" my helmet under my chin so tight that the helmet doesn't move, but something must be configurable to keep the camera from "absorbing" all the shocks.

......I hope that makes sense.

mtbr member