Need sunglasses tint suggestions- Mtbr.com
    DFL

Need sunglasses tint suggestions

I need a new pair of sunglasses for riding in the woods. I have a set of Under Armour glasses that I wear when I'm out on my road bike, but they are too dark to use in the woods. What is a good tint to use? The woods I ride are fairly dense but there is sunlight that gets through. How do photochromatic lenses work? Do they change fast enough to make them effective? My LBS sells Tifossi glasses, are they decent quality?
    I wouldn't **** you, you're my favorite turd.

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    I've been using Oakley photochromic lenses for a couple of years. I have the clear lenses and use the same lenses all the time for both Road and Mountain bike. If you have been riding in direct sun for a while and enter a trail with tree cover you just learn to be ready to pay a little extra attention while your eyes AND glasses adjust. To me it feels like it fully adjusts in about 25 seconds but it's probably a combination of both your eyes and glasses that make it feel that fast. In direct sun the clear lenses get as dark as normal sunglasses. If I lost mine I would immediately get new ones.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Photochromic lenses take too long to change to work well in dappled on off shade and sunny conditions. Something with about a 30% light transmission is good for where I ride.

> /dev/null 2&>1
    I had a serious crash last summer, wearing dark lenses, where I was coming out of light into dark, did not see a baby-head boulder sitting in the trail, hit it obliquely and broke my collarbone. I agree with someoldfart, photochromic lenses won't protect you from this problem because they take too long to lighten up.