Need new shoes- Mtbr.com

Thread: Need new shoes

mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Need new shoes

I would like recommendations for XC race-oriented mtb shoes.
    I could spend $200 and have a great pair, but what I'm hoping for is to find a hidden gem for a very reasonable price. Maybe you know of a good model on closeout somewhere?

I've been using a pair of Nashbar shoes for the last couple of years and they are fine, but very heavy.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    go with some specialized body geometry shoes, the nice ones.... on a budget, i'd take a look at northwave but stay away from Lake.

mtbr member
    I keep looking at sierra trading post.

http://www.sierratradingpost.com/p/3...D-For-Men.html

But for some reason I want a pare of these.

http://www.performancebike.com/bikes..._400009_400098
    Last edited by pulser; 04-11-2010 at 09:49 AM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    I have been riding these for about 3 months.

Bontrager MTN RL shoe

These are my first pair of clipless shoes but they have worked great form me and I have no complaints. They have gotten good reviews and are a decent price.

CB2
    Jam Econo
    I'll second the Specialized BG's. I got the Comps I think (list for about $140).
    Most comfortable shoes I've ever put on my wide 'merican feet.

mnoutain bkie rdier
    I just got some Sidi Dominators and HATE them. They kill my feet and are a perfect fit. I have been using Specialized BG for ever and just decided to see what all the hype is about with Sidi...they don't work for me.

I am looking at some top of line BG now...

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Try stuff on.

I can't stand Specialized BG shoes. They seem to assume I have every foot problem under the sun and just seem to make everything hurt in so many different ways.

Tried on a pair of sidi's which unless I really like the shimano ones I'm trying on soon I'll be getting.

I do have very slim euro style feet though (B width fitting).

Bike Geek
    Mar 2005