MTB Clothing History- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2006

MTB Clothing History

I'm in my 30's and my parents got me a mountain bike in 1987-88. So I have been riding and been around a lot of riders for 19 years. I have a question for you all...

Q: Why the love for spandex pants and really tight jerseys?

I understand that it came from the road cycling end of things. Obviously with road bikes, you want to be aerodynamic. A spandex clad friend of mind tells me "Hey, I don't want to get caught on a branch". I think that is BS.

Needless to say, I've worn "baggy" shorts for a long time, usually with a padded spandex short under them. I am very happy to the with the influx of MX style gear. I just wonder what the attraction is to spandex in the MTB world?

Mantis, Paramount, Campy
    Comfort
    Support
    Moisture Management

Aerodynamics is low on the reasons list for "Lycra" style clothing.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Shayne
    Comfort
    Support
    Moisture Management
    all can be had with modern baggies.

Mantis, Paramount, Campy

To Each His Own

Lots of people love them.
    I can't stand baggy cloths of any type.

I made no claims that traditional cycling cloths were better, I was just pointing out the reasons people wear them.

mtbr member
    If your reasons can be duplicated by baggy gear, how about some actual advantages?

I've never understood the spandex thing.

Mantis, Paramount, Campy

Start A New Thread

Or use the search function to find comments.

The topic of this thread is not "why is traditional cyclicling clothing better than baggy clothing"

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    I use both. I like the baggies for crash protection and style. For really hot days on the trail, I haven't found a baggie yet that is as cool as lycra.

mtbr member
    nm...

mtbr member
    Or use the search function to find comments.

The topic of this thread is not "why is traditional cyclicling clothing better than baggy clothing"