Mountain Bike Shoes

Printable View

• 07-24-2006
    harryzhong
    Mountain Bike Shoes
    Hello All

I'm new to mountain biking, started this past winter. I do mostly cross country stuff here around the bay area.

I was wondering if there was a good shoe out there that was stiff with good power transfer but wasn't a clipless solution. I want to be able to instantly jump off, but also want efficient pedaling for those grueling uphills. Is this an impossible combination?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Harry
  • 07-24-2006
    damion
    Are you using flat pedals?
    If so, try some of the trail type cycling shoes from Specialized and Cannondale. They are not race shoes, but more like trail runner/hiking shoes with a gummy sole, a semi-stiff sole and the tracks for adding cleats if you decide to upgrade pedals.
  • 07-25-2006
    harryzhong
    I am, they'r generic flats with a cage on it.

I will look through some shoes, but there seem to be a lot, are there any specific models you recommend? If not, thanks!

Harry
  • 07-25-2006
    damion
    It really depends on your budget.
    Quote:

Originally Posted by harryzhong
    I am, they'r generic flats with a cage on it.

I will look through some shoes, but there seem to be a lot, are there any specific models you recommend? If not, thanks!

Harry

You really need to try on a few pair to get a good fit. Try Specialized new line, and the MC series from Cannondale. Your fierst pairs of cycling shoes can not be ordered mailorder, as there is no way to get a good fit without knowing what you want.

Personally, I use SIDI, but they are race shoes. Spendy, but nobody, and I mean NOBODY makes shoes like Italiano's do.
  • 07-25-2006
    perttime
    Try before you buy.
    Maybe I am just fussy about shoes but it seems to be common for me to walk into a shop looking for shoes, and come out after not finding one pair that I like.