Mini Clipless Shoe "Shootout": Mavic vs Shimano vs. 5.10- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Mini Clipless Shoe "Shootout": Mavic vs Shimano vs. 5.10

I just got through trying out a couple of clipless shoes, so I thought I'd share what I learned in case anyone else is thinking about the shoes I tried. I know everyone's feet are different, so take my opinions within that context. I wear a size 9.5/43.5mm in street shoes.

Background: I started riding clipless earlier this year with the Mavic Crossmax XL Pro shoes. They're heavy but they fit me well, the sole has good grip and stability, good stiffness, and the quick lacing plus the ratchet is great. Due to use they started to feel loose though, so I went looking for a shoe with better fit and that was lighter and less bulky.

Here are the ones I tried:
    Mavic Crossmax SL Pro Carbon
    Shimano M200
    5.10 Kestrel Lace
    5.10 Kestrel Boa

Mavic Crossmax SL Pro Carbon
    Good: Lightweight and easy to put on/off. Great ratchet system with fine adjustments. A lot of ventilation panels. If you like a traditional XC shoe, then this is it.
    Bad: I was between sizes so couldn't get a good fit. The sole is very stiff but the lugs are very tall, felt like I was wearing soccer cleats. Expensive shoe.

Shimano M200
    Good: Good protection, quick lacing and ratchet system for easy on/off. Better range of cleat positioning. Good weight, and looks like an enduro shoe but feels agile like a XC shoe. No break-in required. Good value if you buy them on sale.
    Bad: I was between sizes, so i settled for the larger size and put an insole in. Not a lot of ventilation so they'll get hot in the warm weather. Sole thread pattern kind of slippery but cleat channel makes it easier to clip in. The ratchet isn't as good as on the Mavics in that it has less finer adjustments.

5.10 Kestrel Lace
    Good: Fit was great, very stiff grippy sole. Much better look than other 5.10 shoes. Laces if you like that over straps.