Lycra- Mtbr.com

Thread: Lycra

mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Smile Lycra

Noob here. Can i ride in shorts and a t-shirt or do i have to wear lycra?

the police will take your bicycle license away if you ride a bike without lycra on. and you can be ticketed if its not tight enough.

believe it. its happened to me.

mtbr member
    You can ride in whatever you want. Just be careful of what your clothes can snag on.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Thats exactly what i thought nomit.You have to watch those bears in the woods.
    Peace bro

mtbr member
    What you probably want to do is get some padded bike shorts and just wear whatever you want over top. The bike shorts can literally save your ass on long rides. But otherwise...there are no rules saying you have to wear lycra....unless you ride a carbon fiber bike. Riding carbon fiber with less than 75% lycra coverage will cause your frame to explode...or is it implode...I can never remember.

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Your call dude....

I personally let where I ride determine the whole thing. I've ridden trails where nice skin tight cycling shorts were almost a must. Tight trails with brambles and wait a minute vines and the like made anything baggy almost impossible to ride in. Otherwise, baggies with a good padded liner work well and are a bit more modest if that worries you. I usually switch over to lycra when the dog days hit. Baggies, even very good ones, are just too hot when the humidity and temps start topping the 80s and 90s. As for should you wear just regular shorts etc. Only if your butt, taint and neuticals are made of cast iron!, or you only ride short distances. The longer the ride the worse beating that region of your body will take. Padded lycra shorts and baggies with padded liners have the much welcome property of being mouisture wicking. The move persperation from the skin to the outer layers of the material to keep your butt drier and greatly reduce chaffing.