Looking for a mid-height mtb shoe for the ankle support- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2011

Looking for a mid-height mtb shoe for the ankle support

Anyone have any suggestions on a mid-height mtb shoe for ankle support? I like the idea of something like the Pearl Izumi X-Alp Mid from a few years ago, but they've been discontinued and I can't find anything in my size (47 in Pearl Izumi, 46, 46.5, or 47 in other brands). Anything else out there offering support and SPD comparability? I've found a couple of other mid-heights with neoprene ankles more for weather protection than support.

I had ankle surgery a little over a year ago. I do a ton of road riding, but I'm just getting into the dirty kind of biking. I'll be doing mostly XC riding on New England single-track, and I've got a single speed, so I'll need a shoe that's decent for pushing the bike up hills, too I like the idea of a high ankle for extra support in case I have to put a foot down in a hurry. I have a couple of pair of road shoes that are low (I ride SPD-SLs on the road), but I've never worried about the ankle support in those because if I'm putting my foot down in a hurry on the the road I'll probably be hurting a lot more than just my ankle!

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Zeeede I have two different pair of mid height shoes first pair is Specialized SAWPIT they are about 3 years old and have a carbonfiber patch that protects the ankle bone. Model # 6114-6 244 I do not know if they still make this model yet but it does have great support. The other pair is Shimano AM50 also a mid height shoe that just covers not so much supports your ankle as they are flexable unlike the Sawpit which is stiff.

mtbr member