Hydration packs - teach me!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Hydration packs - teach me!

Been researching for a couple of days and there's so many variations of Camelbaks and Ospreys, it's confusing and overwhelming.

How did you decided on what you needed? I was thinking to make it easy just buy what's on sale at Jenson or Performance?

I would like 100oz capacity +/- and storage for some gear, mainly day riding is all and what do they mean antidote?
    2012 Trek Fuel EX8 - Matte Black

mtbr member
    May 2012
    You will find alot of people using the camelbak mule including me. I have no complaints, has plenty of storage for gear etc and a nice size bladder (100oz) which stays cold for several hours. I have no experience with osprey's but have heard good things about them too. I'd say go with what you think looks best and/or with what you can find the best deal on. You can't go wrong with either IMO.

antidote info fwiw : Capacity: 100 oz (3 L)

The new Antidote™ Reservoir with Quick Link™ System-- the ultimate cure for dehydration.

Antidote features:
    - Quick-snap cap that tightens in just a quarter turn
    - Low-profile fit for unmatched stability
    - Air-light fillport cuts weight
    - CamelBak® Got Your Bak Guarantee™.
    If we built it, we'll Bak it™ with our lifetime guarantee
    Last edited by jws21; 08-31-2012 at 02:54 PM. Reason: spelling

mtbr member
    What - LaRue doesn't make one in multicam or something? ;-P

The only ones I've tried so far are the Osprey Raptor (10L, then swithed to 14L) and the Dakine Drafter (smaller version of Nomad) Both have served me well so far.

The Drafter is my sub-3hr pack. Nice and compact. Great strap managment. Strong material.
    Exterior features are perfect for pad/armor/misc. carrying.

Raptor is a more "techy" pack, but really shines with the bladder design. Main pack doesn't open wide enough for me, but has nice organization. Lighter material, but packs a bunch inside.