How to dress for cold weather closer to freezing point- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

How to dress for cold weather closer to freezing point

Went out today riding early in the morning, went to and setup the rack mounted the bike, it was like 2C outside, I had my leg warmer, padded shorts, cotton undershirt, another shirt, arm warmer and Gore Alp-X jacket.

I'm fairly new to riding and clothing in layering concept is all new to me, also I had my doubt on the Gore jacket but it worked well today. With my other jacket, I would sweat like crazy and my undershirts would be all wet!

During the ride, I actually got warmer, I had to pull the arm warmer and unzip a bit of the jacket, then it was okay rest of the ride. The jacket was getting slightly moist, but after I unzipped it was okay. I'm very impressed with its performance, also with the close to freezing temperature, I felt okay.

I have summer jerseys, I wonder if I should have worn jersey instead of cotton undershirt? I was thinking a winter long sleeve jersey, but not sure if it would be too hot if I wear the jacket on top. I didn't pick the jersey as I thought it would make me feel cold as undershirt. I have never tried jersey's in the summer, I just bought some online and they arrived when the temperature is cold But I guess this is the time to get off season clothing for good price!

Any suggestions would be great?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    cotton kills, get wool (or sythentics).
    warm sweater/jersey and a heavy windproof vest should get you through sub-zero days. if not switch to full jacket.
    it makes a big difference, and you can actually make do with a lighter weight sweater if you're running full sleeves, but it's easier to overheat that way.
    it's a learning process.

commuter guys have a "long cold winter support" thread, the suggestions for gear etc are universal. too many MTB types wuss out when the snow's axle-deep so...