Help purchasing helmet cam (complete package)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2004

Help purchasing helmet cam (complete package)

I'm completely new to shooting video, so askign for help should I get a
    DVR, a VCR, or a recording deck to work with a helmet cam?

Also, which Viosport would be better - I See the Adventure Cam III has 520 TV LInes resoultion whereas the Cam II has 380. Will this really matter for starting out?

I'll be stoked just to get some good footage with either my bars or my front wheel as a "refernce point".

i don't know how to do this at all, add music, edit the video, but want to learn!
    Sound of Tires on Dirt: Sole Music
    Rides shared with friends: Soul Music

mtbr member
    If you're wanting to shoot while riding, you need a video camera to capture the video, as all the "helmet" cams I've seen are really just a lens/ccd thing that plugs into the inputs on a camera. Your best bet, AFAIK, is to get a decent mini-DV or similar digital video camera. Then you "capture" the recorded video onto your computer and do the editing with video editing software (such as iMovie, Windows Movie Maker, or better and more complex software).

That's a barebones explanation for a very broad topic. I'd say research the helmet cams, check reviews, and ask about specific cameras. Decide on what video camera you want to buy based on reviews, size, etc. Ideally, go to a store and play with it to make sure its going to work for you. Then look into the software. If you already have some on your computer, use it and figure out its problems. Then look into getting better software.

Good luck!

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    So the attached lens/ccd really doesn't make a difference?

So if the camera has good stabilization technology that will translate into the attachment?

Jan 2007

HELMET CAMERA purchase

In order to create a quality video , you need a quality helmet camera system.