Help on mountain bike shoes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2016

Help on mountain bike shoes

I am new to mountain biking, and really enjoying it. Iíve dirt biked my whole life but the abundance of mountain bike trails in Vt and lack of dirtbike trails has drawn me in!

So I have platform pedals and am in search of a good mountain bike shoe. Thought it would be easy but I was overwhelmed by the options. I was looking at the FiveTen Freeride but then I realized they were more of a winter weather shoe based of their website. I like the plain simple look. Also I do like the options with the higher tops for added protection (maybe because Iím used to motocross boots) either way I am not set on any shoe, or low or mid tops.

Just looking for some advice on a reasonably priced set of shoes that will last, grip and protect my feet. Price range I would like is around the 150$ or under, but willing to go a bit higher as well.

Thanks

mtbr member
    You can't go wrong with the FiveTen Freeride. They're easily on of the best flat pedal shoes around. Your feet will stick to the pedals like glue (provided you got a decent pedal).

They also have a very hard sole that offers great protection, and provides efficient energy transfer to the pedals. I hit a stump with my foot pretty hard, and shrugged it off. If I was wearing a soft sole shoe, I would have probably jammed my toes.

They are not just winter shoes. People wear them all summer. I've been wearing mine all summer, and heat is not an issue. You won't even think about your feet.

mtbr member
    Jan 2016
    I would not spend 150-----under a 100 should be easy---the regular freerider I use in the summer here and is very common-----not the upper end models----they are $100 at rei and go thru activejunky and probably save 5% on that---these are easy to find on sale so look around

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by GKelley View Post