Help- Facemask for cold weather- breathable- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Help- Facemask for cold weather- breathable

I'm new to winter fat biking this winter and it's been a cold one here in Iowa with lots of sub-zero rides. I need to cover my face skin and can't grow a beard to save my life (and I'm 44 YO!)

I've been using merino neck gaiters pulled up to my nose but these get soaked from my breath! A lighter poly neck tube is more breathable but doesn't keep my face warm.

Help me out, I'm looking for something warmer in the face but with a lighter mesh around my mouth to let my breath out.

Thanks in advance

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Considering something like this used by motocross but there's no reviews:

https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p...cemask?s=65114

mtbr member
    Dec 2017
    I use something like this: https://www.backcountry.com/outdoor-...onic-balaclava. A bit better, but can still get wet too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Elitest thrill junkie
    I've been doing this a while, a stretchy balaclava is by far the most versatile piece for this. The half-face masks do not provide the same warmth over your head and do not stay in place well in my experience. During a ride, you often need to adjust your face to manage heat, so that means pulling it away or down to use as a neck gaiter, which it does great. You can also pull it up over your nose and breath through it. I generally only do that when it's below 0į if I'm not working hard yet, but it's always nice to have that option. By keeping the rest of your head warm, the blood circulates to your nose and other parts and you don't get cold, unless it's significantly -į temps, where you pull it up over your nose. They aren't expensive either, so you can get a couple different weights, although again, the most versatile in my experience is the stretchy thinner type.