Helmets -- HELP ME!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Helmets -- HELP ME!!!

Hey Guys, I've Been riding for about a month now. I went to my First Real Park today and made me think about how much I should wearing a helmet. I like the Idea of a Full Face, But aren't they overkill for riding on Paved Trails?

For Example:

This Morning, Me and a buddy went and Rode a Single Track With Lots of Trees, hill etc, and After I got home, My Girlfriend wanted to go ride at the MetroPark (~20 miles paved trails)

What Should I Do, Buy Two Helmets? And Please...Recommend some Models for me. I've been riding Quads for about 10 Years, and I ALWAYS Wear my Helmet, But for MTB, I dont really Know the Trends yet.
    adam michigan karate monkey

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    I always wear my helmet biking. Almost everyone wears a helmet on the local singletrack. The paved bike / walking paths seem to be about 50/50. Generally bike helmets are safety rated around 13 mph. I wear a regular bike helmet, I've never seen the need for a full face for the type of riding I do. I've broken a few helmets from crashes and have always walked away with nothing worse than a headache. Get a helmet, you'll regret it if you don't.

I wasn't wearing a helmet while skiing a few years ago, hit a tabletop too hard and missed the transition to land. I landed on flat ground, bounced, and fell backwards hitting the back of my head on the ice. After I came to, and talked with a patroller, I shook it off and went home. Ended up having a pretty serious concussion. I felt dizzy and kept vomiting for a week. I was working as a bartender and couldn't remember people's order by the time I walked to the beer tap. I've also had a permanent loss of fine motor control, my hands tremble almost all the time now.