Helmets...

Printable View

• 11-13-2009
    soooloose
    Helmets...
    Well, I'm a beginner, but i am just starting to really bomb the descents. My most regular trail has super technical descents and some good air-potential. I have been riding this trail pretty tamely for a while now, but recently I have been charging and getting like 3-8 feet of air. My question is, is a regular helmet good enough, or do i need a full face one?

(ive taken some falls where I wished i had one, but I'm not sure about the weight difference and don't have that much $ to spend.)
  • 11-13-2009
    micro224
    for me there is no way i would even consider not wearing a full face helmet if i were rippin it down hill and getting decent air. you dont have to spend a ton for a decent full face and IMO its totally worth it.
  • 11-13-2009
    CHUM
    you're catching 8' and wonder if a FF is a good idea?!

umm...yes....a FF and armor (i like fox launch) is a good investment....
  • 11-13-2009
    kapusta
    Quote:

Originally Posted by soooloose
    Well, I'm a beginner, but i am just starting to really bomb the descents. My most regular trail has super technical descents and some good air-potential. I have been riding this trail pretty tamely for a while now, but recently I have been charging and getting like 3-8 feet of air. My question is, is a regular helmet good enough, or do i need a full face one?

(ive taken some falls where I wished i had one, but I'm not sure about the weight difference and don't have that much $ to spend.)