Helmet suggestion needed- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Helmet suggestion needed

Hi. This looks like a great forum! I am new to biking and I just picked up a 2010 Trek 6700 (Series 6). I was wondering what would be an appropriate helmet? I found these two made by Giro. I thought that they might be acceptable and their colors would match my bike. Both helmets are under $50.00. Even though this is a mountain bike I have been doing a lot of riding on pavement around town. It's a fast bike or maybe I peddle fast. BTW, some friends are laughing at me... they think it's [email protected] to wear a helmet. One said he won't ride with me. LOL! I told him better safe than sorry. Below are the 2 Giro choices and the bike. Thanks for the help!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images    

local trails rider
    Try before you buy.

A helmet that does not fit your head is a pain.

I mean it literally.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Fit is most important. I personally like the visor on the helmet. It helps block out more sun and it looks more like a mountain bike helmet. But that is just me.

Bike Geek
    Mar 2005
    And tell your buddy it's ok if he doesn't wear a helmet we don't want him passing on his DNA.

mtbr member
    I'd go with the one that has a visor. They are usually detachable if you don't don't want to ride with a visor...

Regarding the peer pressure of your friends telling you that they don't think you need to wear a helmet, check out this recent thread:
    https://forums.mtbr.com/beginners-corner/can-ya-help-620258.html
    (make sure you didn't just eat.)

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackHawk1
    BTW, some friends are laughing at me... they think it's [email protected] to wear a helmet. One said he won't ride with me. LOL! I told him better safe than sorry. Below are the 2 Giro choices and the bike. Thanks for the help!!!