Good quality riding gloves?- Mtbr.com
    Just Ride.

Good quality riding gloves?

So my (now 6th?) pair of Dakine CrossX gloves is starting to fall apart and I figured I should try something different.

I've been very happy with the CrossX's - good balance between durability, protection, and comfort/feel. I also own a pair of Dakine Ventilator gloves - they're great for hot weather XC but far too delicate for freeriding or heavy daily use. I work as a mountain biking instructor so I'm riding for 8-9hrs Mon-Fri as well as on weekends for fun, so I need something that lasts!

Any recommendations for solid, good quality freeride gloves that will last?

bikes are people too
    I'm not a huge glove guy, and haven't tried very many pairs, but I've been more than satisfied with how Mechanix gloves work for MTBing. I've had a pair of the original ones for about 6 years now (seriously) and they are still in decent shape, aside from a couple small holes in the palm. Earlier this year I bought a pair of Mpact gloves for AM riding, and they are holding up just fine.

I don't think either of the gloves are meant to really protect your hands, though the padding in the Mpact pair has saved my knuckles a few times. Plus, they're relatively cheap ($20 for original, between $25-$30 for Mpact).
    2009 Santa Cruz Chameleon
    2010 Cannondale CAAD9 4
    1973 Schwinn World Sport (Fixed)

mtbr member
    I have big hands so finding the right gloves/grips combo is a nightmare.

I've tried Odi locking grips (sucked)
    Ergons (ok so far)
    every variation of stock Specialized grips

So far the best combo I've found are Fox Racing Motocross gloves and the Standard Size Ergon grips. The GP1's.

Jason
    Quote Originally Posted by M.A.X
    So my (now 6th?) pair of Dakine CrossX gloves is starting to fall apart and I figured I should try something different.