full face needed?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2015

full face needed?

Hi everyone

Im pretty new to mtb bike riding, well pretty new to riding in general. I take protection pretty serious. I bought some gloves... no brainer,i have a skin graph from knee to ankle on right leg so knee/shin guards again no brainer (bought fox pro launch) have elbow pads on order.

Biggest question is would i benefit from a full face helmit for weekend rides? I plan to ride pretty hard without being stupid but i know there will be a time where i do something thats maybe outside my abilitys.

Thanks keith

Reluctant Tree Hugger
    The only time you really need a full face helmet is when you hit your face. Considering your riding preferences and style and risks, is there a probability of going OTB and hitting your face? If so then you'll want to be prepared.
    Live like there's no tomorrow. But pay your bills just in case there is.

mtbr member
    Feb 2015
    Thats my train of thought.I worked out today that riding down steep drops aint something im going to get over anytime soon. Once i get confidence and skills up im just going to want to go bigger and bigger. Is there anything in particular you should look for in a full face helmet?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith C View Post
    Thats my train of thought.I worked out today that riding down steep drops aint something im going to get over anytime soon. Once i get confidence and skills up im just going to want to go bigger and bigger. Is there anything in particular you should look for in a full face helmet?
    Yes! a factory GoPro mount!

mtbr member
    I use a full face for lift access riding (which is mostly what I do) and an open face for pedal sessions. It's nice to have both. The best full face for pedaling is the Specialized deviant, if you can find one since Spesh likes to discontinue anything that's good. Like the Pitch.

Ride in heat
    May 2012