Full Face Helmets and Head Shapes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Full Face Helmets and Head Shapes

Hey everybody,

Looking for information on helmets and head shapes. I have yet to find any real information in the bike community for this. I purchased a Fox Rampage and have more space on the sides of the helmet and stronger contact on the front and top. I would assume then that the Fox Rampage has a little more of a round head profile and I am more oblong. What helmets are out there, that don't cost a fortune, have more of an oblong profile? I'm using this for all mountain and general trail use by the way if that makes any difference. My head measurement is about 22-5/8" as well.

Thanks everybody for your responses.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    im pretty new to the MTB helmet thing, but im not new to the moto helmet thing.

best thing i could ever do was go to all the moto shops around and try every diff brand on until i found one i liked.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Unfortunatly, I live in an area where no shops carry full face helmets for bikes. And, motorcycle helmets do not give a good enough idea for their counterparts in the mtb world of fit comparison (at least Fox doesn't). So, I really don't have a good way of trying on an actuall full face helmet before purchasing. That's why I'm asking here for the help of the masses. I talked to JensonUSA and they said that the Fox is indeed more round and the Giro would be more oblong. It would be nice to hear a confirmation on that.

N/A
    Feb 2004
    I think Jenson got it backwards. My experience is the opposite of yours - although it's possible that different sizes fit differently even in the same brand.