Flat pedal newbie here - question about shoes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Flat pedal newbie here - question about shoes

So my first ever pair of flat pedals is supposed to be on the big brown UPS truck for delivery today and I am trying to figure out what do do about shoes. I have been riding clipless for 30 years, so this is going to be a big experiment for me. I am used to cycling shoes having Velcro and straps, but it seems that all the shoes designed for flats have laces. Why? Laces just come undone and get caught up in your crank. The only ones I have seen without laces seem to be the $150 Shimano's and I am not quite ready to spend that much money on shoes for an experiment that might not last too long. So I guess my question is whether anybody makes a Velcro strap type of shoe that is designed for flats and doesn't cost $150. None of the shops around here carry any flat pedal shoes except for REI and all they have are 5 10's.
    Friends don let friends ride road bikes.
    http://www.facebook.com/mikebmiller

Bikesexual
    FWIW, I have laces on my 510s and that has never happened.

I do a double knot, and so far so good.

Sent from my LGMS210 using Tapatalk
    Surly Krampus
    All City MMD
    Kona Unit
    Surly Cross-Check

mtbr member
    My 510's have laces. I just tuck the bows under the top cross laces. No problems.
    2016 Evil Following V1
    2016 Dartmoor Primal+

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    I have never had my laces come undone and get caught up in crank since elementary school. I guess its a style and "steeze" thing. Also, it isn't needed to be as tight as there won't be any pulling up component. And nothing says awesome bail and crash as going full yardsale and having shoes flying off somewhere while your glasses go off somewhere else!
    Oh and if you get shoes in non-clown colors, you can wear them casually too. I like using my first gen Danny Mckaskills for walking around too.