Do I need bar lights, helmet or both?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

Do I need bar lights, helmet or both?

Hey guys,

I am new to MTB night riding, I currently have no lights and the budget is undecided. I like the idea of some night racing so I am happy to spend the necessary amount to get the right kit. I will also be using them 2-3 times a week for 3hr training rides so battery life is important.

Could I get some experienced opinions on what I should be looking at?

I have spent a long time searching the net but I'm confused if I just need a good set of helmet lights or both bar and helmet!

Thank you!

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    If you are not travelling a lot on roads(public traffic) then with small budget helmet light should be the first thing, as it shows light excactly where you need it. With bigger budger you can use both: helmet and bar light.

Keep in mind, when choosing a helmet light to also check the weight of the unit, as heavy lights are more trouble than useful(heavy light tires your neck and rocks your helmet around).

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Thank you Genius Gun! I should elaborate more on what I'm after. I've been racing XC for a year now and I've had a 1st cat licence road racing for a few years. Ideally I'm looking to buy a set of lights and not need to change or upgrade them for quite a while. My budget could stretch to 600-700 if needs be but I'm not trying to spend as much as possible!

Hope that helps narrow this down

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    you can get by with a helmet or bar light. my preference is to have it on my helmet and it seems that a lot of people do this. i am thinking of adding a bar light as the magicshines are good value and bright enough for my needs. now knowing how good they are i would have ordered 2 from the start and you will have plenty of change from your budget.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007