Dainese Hybrid Knee Pads Review- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Dainese Hybrid Knee Pads Review

There really isn't any info on here about these knee pads, so I figured I'd share my 2c since I just bought these pads and I've had the Trailskins as well.

To give a brief background on why I ended up buying the Hybrids, I had been using the Trailskins for a couple of months until a tame crash completely shredded one of the pads making me question the durability of the Trailskins.

I was looking for a lightweight, breathable, pedaling-friendly knee pads that could handle crashes on rocks. The Hybrids are a step up from the Trailskins, and since I liked the Trailskins I thought these would do everything I was looking for.

I've only put a few rides on them in 95deg weather, but I've tried out enough pads to know what works or what doesn't, so here are my impressions:

Pros: lightweight and low profile. easy to slip on and off (if you picked the correct size), good coverage of the knee and the sides of the knee plus they come down to mid-shin so that's covered as well. relatively breathable in hot weather. pedal friendly and they stay put even when you're drenched in sweat.

Cons: not breathable enough in hot weather. retention straps could be wider/bigger for better fit. sizing is hard to nail down. better quality control and finish (mine had some plastic thread ends poking out on the inside that felt like needle pricks when I tried on the pads).

Things that should be improved: Breatheability (they should have used more of the plastic honecomb material like on the Trailskins). Sizing (Dainese's size chart is inconsistent and confusing). More countouring of the pad to make the pad fit more naturally to the shape of the knee. Better mesh material that's more durable. The straps at the calf and thigh should be larger and have more velcro surface area.