Cold weather riding noob!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2008

Cold weather riding noob!

I just moved to Chapel Hill, NC from Florida. Living in Florida my whole life I have never really worried about what type of gear to wear when it gets cold. Now that I am living in NC I am pretty sure that I am not outfitted correctly for when the cold gets here. Yes, I know there are more places that get a lot colder then it does here, but I have zero experience dealing with cold weather (I have never even seen snow before).

I mostly ride trails that are XC with a little bit of AM thrown in there on occassion. I also, have a 3 mile commute ride to work each day (this is my first job I have been able to commute to, and I love it! I would like to continue this through the winter)

I know full length wind resistant gloves are probably a must. My current cold weather gear is a base layer, some arm warmers, and some knee warmers... That's all I have (& I have never used the knee warmers)

So what are the essential pieces of clothing I should have? Thanks.

mtbr member
    how do you define cold ?? for me cold is 25F or below... Be sure to keep your camelbak close to your back so your body heat prevents the water from freezing...

A shirt (or 2 shirts layered) made of a good wicking material is essential... It doesnt have to be a fancy cycling shirt... Just a shirt made of a good solid wicking material...

I used to commute to my job every day when I lived in Morgantown, WV... Just as long as it was above 10F I was ok... when it got below 10, it became not so fun... What sucks is having to breathe in that ice cold air into your lungs... But you do get used to it...

I never had a problem riding in above 20F weather...

mtbr member
    I have a seperate gear bag with the cold stuff in it. Same as what you have but a ski helmet, anti fog skydiving glasses, dual pane goggles, toe warmer packs balaclava etc.