which clipless pedals and shoes for clipless newb?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

which clipless pedals and shoes for clipless newb?

Sorry, I know this is covered to death....

I am considering clipless. I use to road bike with toe straps, so I am totally new to this world.
    Some considerations for me are:
    -Pedal still functions as a platform (I won't always be wearing the shoes)
    -Cheap!
    -Ez to use
    I have no idea when it comes to the shoes......

All help is appreciated!
    Thanks!

College Boy
    by not always wearing the shoes do you mean for trail riding or just casual riding. If it is for trail riding it will change to you will want the shoes that going for the combo stuff is not worth it. For just casual riding most clipless pedals have enough of a platform for you to be able to ride with no problem at all.
    For pedals I am a huge fan of the Shamino M520s. Shoes I would say go to some place like performance bike web sight and look for one of them on sell. I got a really good deal on my lake shoes that way.

as for the m520s. I ride to school all the time with just regular shoes on and not my clipless shoes but trail riding I will not do it with out my shoes and that is just be caus I am more comfortable being clipped in. I can ride with out them just I would not feel as comfortable pushing the limits.

Oh and do not just look for the cheapest pedals and shoes because you will live to regreat it. egg beaters and the Shaminos are really the best 2 types of pedals to start out on.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    yes, I am refering to not clipping in when riding around the block with my son, or to the store.

Double-metric mtb man
    The 520's are a nice, cheap starting point. They can be ridden in normal shoes, but won't have the platform for anything other than a casual ride to the store or such.