Cleated Shoes + Clipless Pedals PHENOMENA?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Cleated Shoes + Clipless Pedals PHENOMENA?

Hi MTBR gurus!

I recently decided to step up and try cleated shoes+clipless pedals. I got the Shimano DX shoes and Shimano M454 pedals. The shoes are, I think, more for DH than trail because of the "skate shoe style", but I chose these shoes because they are comfy to walk with without the cleats (I can wear them when not riding) and that they look cool. The pedals have aluminum cages that serve as a platform. These pedals, I think, are for DH rather than XC because of the large cage and more weight, but I chose these pedals because I'm new to riding clipless so I thought it would help to have a "stomping area" rather than just the clipping mechanism.

My initial experience was good. I was able to install the cleats on the shoes and adjust the placement accordingly. Also, I found it pretty easy to clip in and out. I have tried riding on pavement with this shoe-pedal combo and now I could say "so this is how it is to be clipped-in". I've also dared using them in trail-like conditions (going through obstacles like roots, ledges and rocky/gravelly sections. So far, so good.

However, I'm experiencing some new "phenomena" that may or may not be part of having cleated shoes and/or clipless pedals.

Here are my qustions:

1. Is it normal that one side has more float than the other? My right foot is very secure to the pedal, with just enough float for my right ankle to move side-to-side. But My left foot feels unsecure on the pedal, it feels like there's too much float, like the rest of the shoe's sole is doing nothing to make my left foot stable on the pedal. As an analogy: my right foot feels like a pyramid on the pedal, my left foot feels like an inverted pyramid on the pedal. Any solutions for better and equal right and left stability please?