Cleat rear positioning

Printable View

• 01-17-2017
    BiciMapas
    Cleat rear positioning
    Hello,

I have been riding clipless pedals for over 20 years so am really used to and like them. I recently installed flat pedals (Shimano Saint) to a bike I use for training midweek with the idea to develop some skills I am lacking and for which the use of flats were extensively recommended. With these pedals I tend to locate my foot more forward compared to the current clipless set up I have, and feel more comfortable and with a more powerful pedal stroke. So I am looking to replicate this foot position with the clipless pedals. I have already moved the cleats back as much as possible but have not yet got to the same position as on the flats.

I found this video on an old thread in this forum (http://forums.mtbr.com/general-discu...ng-788148.html) that describes what I am looking for :

https://vimeo.com/30128286

I also found a review on the Five Ten Maltese Falcon shoes and it seems they allow to locate the cleat further back than traditional clipless shoes

Review: Five Ten Maltese Falcon SPD Compatible Shoes

Can anybody using these shoes confirm whether this is correct? Are there any other clipless shoes that allow for a rear cleat location?

(I know I can drill holes in my current shoes but as I am in the market for new ones, hopefully I may find some that already have this feature)

Thanks
  • 01-17-2017
    watts888
    I normally ride my platforms a little further back than I ride clipless, but I think that's more to do with how my seat post height is setup vs. a more efficient foot position. If I raise the seat up, my foot/pedal position goes back up under the ball.

Since it appears a more rearward foot position over the pedal is better for downhill riding, I'd look around that forum or look around for some DH clipless shoes.
  • 01-17-2017
    BiciMapas