• 01-22-2015
    hewhocoughsatbears
    Chest Protector for XC Riding?
    I started riding about five months ago, I don't do anything too technical, moderately difficult trails, but no big jumps or drops or anything like that. I wear elbow and knee pads in addition to helmet and gloves, because I have had quite a few nasty crashes. Last night I crashed and landed with my chest on the tip of my handlebar and very nearly broke my sternum. For all I know I may actually have a hairline fracture that just didn't show up on the xray I had at the ER, apparently that is not unusual.
    Should I start wearing chest protection because of this accident? Or is it overkill for the kind of riding I'm doing? I have had several other crashes where I have fallen on my chest, but nothing as bad as this.
  • 01-22-2015
    Legbacon
    I think it's overkill. I've been mtbing 28 years and only once hurt my chest. Got a nasty looking bruise and that was it. Work on your technique and make sure your bike is setup with safety and control in mind.
  • 01-22-2015
    griffter18
    Youve only been riding a short time.
    In the early days expect some falls as you learn but they shouldnt be severe unless you are riding trails that are too technical, or are riding beyond your skills.
    Dont push the boundaries or ride too fast. Get the basics nailed by reading up on technique, watching others with good form and practicing.

Genuine accidents do happen but most of the time falls are a result of doing something incorrectly. Analyse what went wrong.

Obviously if you come off then there is always the risk of a bad landing and thats just the way it goes.
    Protection does make you feel safer but it will also give you a false sense of security. This may make you ride faster or more aggressively. If you havent built the skills youre setting yourself up for another fall

Why did you come off on this occassion?
  • 01-22-2015
    mattnmtns
    Overkill