• 02-04-2009
    BuffaloSprocket
    Buy a training plan or comfy shoes?
    Just signed up for a 12 hour solo that is 13 weeks away. I have a decent base from training on my own through January however I have been thinking about purcahsing a plan form Lynda.

I've been riding the same shoes for a few years now and have some issues on the road bike (run SPDs there too, same shoes) and think I could benefit from better arch support. I've been fit professionally on the road bike. I've always been told don't skimp on points of contact with the bike. On the mountain bike I have been up to some 4 and 5 hour rides with no issues (just road).

Assuming I have one choice and that's a training plan and a heart rate monitor, or a new set of Shimano thermo-mold shoes (or similar comfy shoe). Where will I feel the biggest difference?

I know this is kind of a stupid question, But I can get by on my shoes and I know I can probably finish the race by training on my own. I lean towards training plan, but I'd hate to drop from the race because of knee pain, or any other pedal/shoe complications..

Please let me know if you had to make any other decisions like this? This 12 hour is a precursor to the SM100 in September.
  • 02-05-2009
    esilvassy
    Another option if your shoes are still on pretty good shape and it is just arch support would be
    new insoles. There are many types out there REI sells quite a few versions of the superfeet brand. Also if your feet could benefit from some cant under the footbed, Specialized stores should sell theirs as well. Other outdoor type stores or running shops should have a selection as well.
    it is still up to you in the long run though.
  • 02-05-2009
    chainringrrl
    A combo of the two-
    less expensive shoe and training plan. If you can't get both today, get started on the training plan and save to make new shoes a priority. You know you need both or you wouldn't of bothered making the post :thumbsup:
  • 03-09-2009