Brightest light on the bars or helmet??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Brightest light on the bars or helmet??

Night riding newbie here........

I purchased a Niterider TriNewt and a Minewt X2 for an upcoming 24hr race. I have not done any night riding yet though I hope to get a handful of night rides in before the race to get the setup right.

My question is should I put the TriNewt (486 lumens) on the bars and the X2 (150 lumens) on the helmet or the other way around?

Two opposing arguments I have heard are: 1. The brightest light should be on the bars as it cuts through the dust better and creates better shadows over small obstacles. 2. On the other hand, I hear that it is best to have the brightest light on the helmet so you can see around turns and down drops better.

This is for the 24Hrs of Moab so it will be out in the desert with a lot of beige sand, rolling fire-roads, and some single-track with a few good sized and sudden drop-offs.

Thoughts and suggestions?

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    I find the helmet light to be more useful than the handlebar light. (If I had only one light, I'd prefer to place it on my helmet, rather than on the bars.) I use the helmet light to look ahead at where I want to go. The handlebar light, on the other hand, ends up being pointed in whatever direction the bars happen to be pointed at that moment, making it considerably less useful for seeing far ahead. It does make sense to point the handlebar light down somewhat, illuminating the trail immediately ahead.

With that in mind, I think it makes more sense to have the bright light on your helmet and the weaker light on the handlebar. You'll use the brighter light to see what's coming ahead. The weaker light on the bars makes sense because it's primarily used for close up illumination anyway.
    Last edited by KevinB; 09-16-2009 at 08:16 PM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006