Bike Shoes/Foot Placement- Mtbr.com

Jun 2009

New question here. Bike Shoes/Foot Placement

I do apologize if this has been covered, did a few searches and didn't come up with much.

I've been riding for a few months now, enjoying it quite a bit. The only things that I have that I solely use for biking are the bike itself, my helmet, and a Camelback I got a few years ago as a gift.

I'm pretty low-tech, I just figure throw some shorts and sneakers on and hit the trails.

Yesterday I was on my 11th mile, with 3 more to go when my right foot hit a ninja stump. Needless to say I've broken my big toe on my right foot and shattered/destroyed my toenails. It probably doesn't help that they were 6 year old Newbalances, but I can't imagine newer sneakers being THAT much better.

So, that brings me to two questions.

1. Am I riding with my feet too far forward? My toes smashed or "stubbed" against a stump I didn't see, meaning I was probably standing pretty far forward on the petals with my toes hanging over. What is the proper foot placement?

2. Are "biking" shoes worth it, and do they all pretty much come in with heavy toe protection? Even if I'm going to try to correct my technique to ride farther back on the petals (assuming this is the correct technique, you tell me), without some hardcore toe protection I'll be too scared to ride until this foot heals. But if I have some solid toe protection I would probably be able to get out as early as this weekend...

In any event, any guidence would be appreciated.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by laelaus
    1. Am I riding with my feet too far forward? My toes smashed or "stubbed" against a stump I didn't see, meaning I was probably standing pretty far forward on the petals with my toes hanging over. What is the proper foot placement?
    The ball of your foot should be over the pedal spindle. In all likelihood, this means that you won't be able to count on the pedal for protecting your toes.