Best Helmet?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Best Helmet?

mtbr member
    Aug 2007

Best Helmet?

What do you recommend for a helmet? I plan on trails and downhill once I get used to it. I have $130 to spend. thanks.

Riding or Fishing
    Fox Flux...sweet helmet, and very comfortable!

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    vega mojave

Quote Originally Posted by ilikemybike011
    You don't like a fork because it's popular? That's the most retarded reason I have ever heard of.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Do I need a full helmet like the vega since I am still a beginner? I was thinking about something like a giro zen.

Jun 2007
    you will when you get into downhill. if anything beginners will fall a lot more, don't wan to get messed up off the bat and be put off from biking.

did you think about buying a cheaper full face and getting a bucket or whatever too? i have a 661 Full Comp that I use when I am riding more difficult stuff, but when I am just making a trip to local singletrack I take my bucket. my full face has saved me a couple times now without any structural damage to the helmet, but when you really get into DH you will want something stronger.

Jun 2007
    i just wear a skate helmet. Get a Bell.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    ohh trust me you will love having a full face. I have gone over the handle bars a couple times and all i have to say is that if you have a cross country helmet, it will just slide off when ur face hits the ground. When you have the full face it stays with you. They have saved me a lot. (plus you look cooler) haha
    You don't like a fork because it's popular? That's the most retarded reason I have ever heard of.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    what about when I just ride around the neighborhood? Do you guys still wear the full faced helmets?

Get out and ride
    Apr 2007
    Giro XEN

Jun 2007
    I vote either Giro Hex or Xen. I perfer teh Hex cause I like the little scoop slots over the oval slots if you know what I'm talking about.

mtbr member