Best Freeride Shoes?- Mtbr.com

Mar 2008

Best Freeride Shoes?

I need help picking out some shoes to wear while riding. I use Easton platform pedals and ride cross country, all mountain and some pretty rough and technical terrain. I have heard that alot of guys use skateboard shoes such as vans. The only problem I see with that is when I come to a section that is unridable, I'm not sure the flat skateboard shoes have enough traction on the ground to keep me from sliding around.

I have seen freeride shoes from 661 and 5/10 does anyone else make them and how are they?

Thanks.

P.S. yes i'm a newbie and yes this is my first post

mtbr member

Baba Booey!
    +1 for the 5.10s

I've ridden clipless for over 10 years, I just bought the 5.10s and paired them with Crank Bros 5050s. Let me tell you, I've never been able to do a 'proper' bunny hop w/o cheating with the clip ins, but last night I pulled of some nice hops on the platforms. Feet never slipped. the 5.10s really stick to the pedals.

Is flexy
    Welcome...

Nothing compares to 5 tens. The grip like crazy and are nice and stiff. Worth every penny... you already have some nice pedals so its time for some nice shoes.
    Good People... www.efingersports.com

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I rode the 510s for some time. I had a weak fall on a rocky section and the 510's were so sticky my foot stuck and I rolled my ankle, fracturing my foot..

I use Circa skate shoes now. (the ones with an ankle strap to keep the laces out of the way.) Sometimes I think the 510's are too sticky. I'd use them for racing for sure. But for general riding and messing around I like to re-set my foot on the pedals. With the 510's that's really akward to do..

Also, the circas are substantially more comfortable for walking around when doing trail work/scouting.

mtbr member
    i wear nikes
    Quote Originally Posted by _dw
    To be blunt;

6) The Earth would begin to collapse into a black hole and it would make people sad.