Beginner--knee/elbow pads? ride essentials?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2017

Beginner--knee/elbow pads? ride essentials?

Hi everyone,

First time poster--picked up a bike a couple of weeks ago and looking to get out on the trails after practicing some skills and things in the street. Basically, I'm finding out that depending on what article you read online, there are a lot of "essentials" needed for out on the trail. The trails around me are mostly single track, between 5 and 12 miles long. I'm just looking to get opinions on what actually are ride essentials? Obviously a helmet, saddle bag with tire levers, patch kit, multi tool, hydration, etc, but are knee/elbow pads essential? What about MTB specific jersey and shorts? Does all this stuff actually make the quality of ride better?

I certainly plan on falling as I'm a beginner, but I don't really mind getting scraped up--just wasn't sure if catastrophic crashes happen often that can really mess up my joints that the pads would protect, or if that kind of thing is rare. This might be a really dumb question, but I just want to get the opinions of people who are really out their riding. Also, any recommendation on good options for essentials for a guy on a budget would be great.
    Patrick

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    You can get by without knee and elbow pads. It kind of depends on how hard you are pushing your limits and how technical your trails are. Catastrophic injuries typically wont happen unless you are hitting technical features, jumps and corners at high speeds. That being said I wear knee pads on pretty much all my rides as my trails are pretty technical and they have saved my knees many times. There are lots of options for light weight trail oriented pads right now that are very comfortable and can be worn all day. Alpinestars Paragon and Dakine Slayer are the sets I've worn and both fit the bill very nicely.