5.10 Freerider Contact total destruction- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

5.10 Freerider Contact total destruction

Upon finishing my ride yesterday, I looked down and was surprised to find that one of my near-new Freerider Contact shoes was done-zo. My guess is that at some point I missed a pedal and a pin caught the plastic material that the sides of these are made from. I had not had any big wrecks or done anything crazy on this ride.

I find this pretty poor, given that these shoes are designed to be in close proximity to pedal pins. Hopefully 5.10 will rethink that flimsy transparent plastic for future models. Pity, I love(d) these shoes otherwise.

5.10 Freerider Contact total destruction-img_3554.jpg

Don't worry, be happy!
    have you contacted customer service?

mtbr member
    I have, and have not yet heard back. I will pass along their response if/when it arrives.

I will add that I've been riding a version of the Freerider line for 5+ years and love them; they've always been bombproof, so I was surprised at how easily these were damaged. I will certainly buy 5.10 again, though I might stick to more traditional leather/mesh models.

mtbr member
    Feb 2015
    I killed my regular Freeriders the same way.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by DrewBird View Post
    I have, and have not yet heard back. I will pass along their response if/when it arrives.

I will add that I've been riding a version of the Freerider line for 5+ years and love them; they've always been bombproof, so I was surprised at how easily these were damaged. I will certainly buy 5.10 again, though I might stick to more traditional leather/mesh models.
    5.10 isn't really good at email support... i've never received any response from any of my inquiries to them.
    Canfield Yelli Screamy

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3554.jpg 
Views:	295 
Size:	261.1 KB 
ID:	1077327