2010 S-Works Shoes - durability?- Mtbr.com
    CDB
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

2010 S-Works Shoes - durability?

I've been using Specialized shoes exclusively since 2003, except for one pair of Sidi's in there for half a season. The Speci shoes fit my foot well for both the road, mtb, and cx.

I've just killed my second pair of S-Works mtb shoes in a year, and am concerned w/ the durability of the newest version I'd be replacing them with, 2010 model.

Though the BOA doesn't last that long, it is replaceable unlike the velcro which seems to wear out in less than a season (just like all shoes). One benefit I see w/ the new 2010 design is the replaceable treads. My concern is that the carbon sole is hollow foam core. I have broken one pair of shoes by cracking the sole, and also ripped the short toe spike thread inserts out of every pair i've owned. The pair I'm using now is only 6 mo's use, which I would call the 2009 model.

Anyone else out there have comparable experience using both types 09/10? How about that glossy new upper material? Does that get scuffed up or does it remain clean and shiny w/ a quick wash with a moist towel?

Am I wrong to think that a shoe this expensive should last longer than 3/4 of a year? Every review I've read about these shoes talks about how it's an investment that will last 2-3 years. I can't imagine HOW I could get a pair to last that long. The last pair I broke, I attempted to get them warrantied and they just kind of scoffed at me, saying they looked worn. Other shops have always warrantied my damaged shoes in years past, but that was when I lived in a different state and the local S-Works dealers were significantly better in the customer service department.

BTW, I'm not a huge guy, but 6'2" and 170lbs.

mtbr member