$50-70 Helmet choices- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2009

$50-70 Helmet choices

Hey Guys,
    I started riding again about 6 months ago, and I am realizing that I need a new helmet. I do not have a lot of cash to spend on a helmet, but I do want something that looks alright, not a cheap walmart one. Any ideas. IF it helps I am 6'5 and skinny, so I already look dumb in a helmet, are there any other riders that have found helmets they love?
    Thanks

Underskilled
    Asking for advice on specific helmets is a very bad idea.

the fit is the most important thing, try on a variety of brands and see what fits snugly on all sides and does not roll.

I fit Giro helmets quite well, I would love a MET parachute, but it doesn't fit so no good =-(
    Why would I care about 150g of bike weight, I just ate 400g of cookies while reading this?

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    I'm in the same boat. Been out of riding for a long time and the helmet I'm using is about 15 years old and been moved through several duty stations.
    Been thinking about replacing with a nutcase. Anyone have any experience with them?

Pimpmobile
    Mar 2010
    I currently have a Giro Indicator, universal fit, that's quite comfortable...

bikeisland sells them for $35.00 shipped.

Not the most stylish thing, but if it keeps the yolk in the shell....
    "Fear not the ob-stackles in your path"

mtbr member
    It does not matter what other people think - it matters that it fits properly.

All the helmets are built to the same crash standards. Biggest difference between a $20 helmet and a $200 will be cooling and weight.

Get into your LBS and start trying on all sorts!

P.S. we all look dumb in helmets. And Lycra shorts. And covered in mud........

All fat, all the time.
    Yep goto LBS & try some on. I just bought a new one, a Bell (dunno the model) fit me real nice, about $79 or so.