Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

What do people mean when they say XC bikes aren't as fun?

7K views 42 replies 23 participants last post by  AllMountin' 
#1 ·
I hear they are fast, and efficient. But some say they are not as fun such as going downhill compared to a trail bike.

Why is this? Would it have to do with the frame geo?

#21 ·
I have come full circle on this. I started riding in the 80s on fully rigid bikes and had a blast. I didn't have as high of a standard then of what trails I thought were "fun" -- it was ALL fun.

Later, I started racing XC, but didn't stay in that very long because the courses were only physically challenging, and I was into riding much more technical terrain at that point.

I then got into downhill racing and dual slalom, at a time that the sport was in its infancy and bike technology was escalating rapidly. It was a very exciting time, for sure. I got into DH full-on and my bikes kept getting bigger and bigger suspension, brakes, etc. But you know what? My expectations of trails also rose. For a long time, I was riding 40+ pound behemoths and trails just had to have a real payoff to make lugging the thing to the top worth it. I simply stopped riding any trails that were flatter and smoother, since in reality, my bikes at the time carried a huge performance penalty on such trails. They needed to be pointed down and the trails needed to be gnarly for me to have a good time, I told myself. Flat, "xc" trails were now "lame." To be fair to myself, I was still very fit back then and earned my turns. It was just a different kind of riding-- but I was missing out.