Is using full 170mm travel on small jumps an issue?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2019

Is using full 170mm travel on small jumps an issue?

I've been riding my sb6 for a couple of months and I'm trying to get the suspension dialed. I'm running the base Fox Performance 36 170mm fork. I weigh 155 pounds and the psi is set to 70. My rear shock is the Fox Performance DPX2 and its set to 180 psi. Also, I sped up the rebound a little. I've found that I'm using my full suspension going off small, 1-2 foot kickers (did a slow-mo video of me going off a jump to verify). I'm worried that on bigger features I could bottom out hard. Is it normal to use that much travel on smaller jumps or is there something I should look to adjust?

mtbr member
    Oct 2015
    You'll know when you've used full travel, doesn't feel nice. Height isn't the only determining factor, it's the landing gradient usually. If you're hucking to flat a 2 foot drop can be very harsh whilst a 6 foot drop to a steep landing can be smooth.

I'd suggest using volume spacers to gain some bottom out resistance and maintain the same pressures and retain small bump compliance.
    Last edited by GRPABT1; 2 Weeks Ago at 09:17 PM.

mtbr member
    At 155 lbs, with 180 psi are you getting the recommended sag? If so, on an SB6 with stock spacers, I think it's unlikely to be a problem. Also, do you know what full travel is? Let the air out of the shock and see if what you are getting is close.

Edit: I see the amount of compression on the fork is significant, but I think that's personal preference. That's kind of how mine is set up.
    Last edited by MSU Alum; 3 Weeks Ago at 01:43 PM.

Thinking about riding.
    Dec 2014