Used 2010 Santa Cruz Heckler 6 buying recommendations- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2020

Used 2010 Santa Cruz Heckler 6 buying recommendations

I'm fairly new to the Mountain Biking scene and have seen a few older Santa Cruz Hecklers for sale. Is a 10 year old bike too old? How much should I be paying?

If the replies could include stock setup price recommendation and a price recommendation assuming upgrades have been made to the bike.

Thanks to everyone in advance!

mbtr member
    Dude they made hecklers for ever, and at every imaginable price point. You need to be really specific about what year heckler, what condition it's in, and what the build kit is. Otherwise it's impossible to guess.

Hecklers are great. They have a falling rate suspension that is fun and bouncy, but also dated. Their geometry is extremely short by modern standards. But they're sturdy and fun to ride. I wouldn't get too hung up on buying a heckler, and instead just try to find the best thing available on the used market.

What should an old heckler cost? ~500$, depending on condition.
    "Things that are complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple."
    Mikhail Kalashnikov

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by scottzg View Post
    Dude they made hecklers for ever, and at every imaginable price point. You need to be really specific about what year heckler, what condition it's in, and what the build kit is. Otherwise it's impossible to guess.

Hecklers are great. They have a falling rate suspension that is fun and bouncy, but also dated. Their geometry is extremely short by modern standards. But they're sturdy and fun to ride. I wouldn't get too hung up on buying a heckler, and instead just try to find the best thing available on the used market.

Yeah, I rented one at a resort a couple of years ago and was really surprised at how well it rode. Kind of outdated, but still a heap of fun on the trail.
    Riding Washington State singletrack since 1986

mtbr member