mtbr member
    Sep 2018

Typical newb thread but I need help

Hello all, I have been riding for a few years on my Cannondale F5 and I'm tired of breaking it. Its a hardtail from 2007, need I say more.

I ride in VA where it is not extremely hilly but there are plenty of mello inclines and declines. I like to jump but nothing extreme. I am interested in racing in the future. I ride MX and have for a long time. I am looking for a solid workout, speed, and durability.

I have been riding a friends Epic and while the bike is very fast, I've already broken two spokes on that but I feel that came from poor maintenance. I also am not a fan of the very steep head angle.

So that brings me to the Stumpjumper ST. My issue is that the comp version does not offer a 27.5 version. So I can go with the basic ST or I could go for the Standard Stumpjumper. I'm concerned the extra travel will be unnecessary for my area but I want the better components.

Please help me!

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Get the one with better components. If you really want a shorter travel you can convert by buying a new yoke and shock. The rest of the frame is the same.

mtbr member
    Components are easily replaced later, or they wear out and you need to replace them anyway.

Buy a bike for the frame and geometry, you can't change that. I would take a look at other brands that aren't specialized, there's a ton of good stuff out there now, for less cash.

mtbr member
    Sep 2018
    I appreciate you allís input. I guess a lot of my question is a need for recommendation on recommended geometry and travel for my situation. Iíve tried to read and research as much as I can and I see some differences but Iím really not sure which way to go.

mtbr member
    Jan 2016