mtbr member
    Apr 2017

New question here. Some general questions regarding chain skipping and rear derailleurs

Hi. First off, thanks for taking the time to read this! I will try to give a bit of background but not too much to bore anyone. I have been a casual rider for several years but have never really done maintenance or routine upkeep of my own bikes. Around 10 years ago I purchased a new specialized hard rock sport which has done really well considering my lack of upkeep that I am just learning about now. Last fall I broke a chain and replaced it, which didn't seem to be that big of a deal. However, once I replaced the chain, it kept skipping something horribly. I had the cassette replaced thinking that would help. However I am still having issues. I have new cables but have not put them on yet. While looking up videos and reading up on adjustment, I noticed that I no longer have a b-screw in my rear derailleur (nor anything to thread one into) I tried to rig something up from the hardware store, but that seems iffy. Seeing those problems, I am considering replacing the rear derailleur to see if that will fix it (in addition to new cables). My bike has gone through many falls since I hadn't been putting it in a stand and the wind would frequently blow it over...so that may have bent it or something. (there are other issues I have noticed too that lead me to think replacing is a good idea) However, since I am so new at bike repair, I am wondering if I am missing something obvious?