Thread: Proflex?

mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Proflex?

Ok guys i'm glad your hear for this. My friend has a 2000 Proflex 555 that she doesn't ride anymore. I've never heard of this brand or bike and really can't find anything on the internet about it. She said they paid a good amount for it but that was also in 2000. I guess the seat shock or something like that is broken and said if I can get someone to fix it the bike is mine so hopefully I can get out cheap. I wanted to know what you guys thought about this bike and getting it for so cheap. I'm a newb moving up to ATL, Ga and was planning on getting a Trek 4300 but if I can get a hand me down...why not? Right? Any expertise would be helpful. thanx

fuggansonofahowa
    Ah, yes, memories....It's a K2.

If I remember correctly, it was "K2" in 2000 (Not Proflex). The 555 was made in 1995 - the last digit is year, in the 90's. The elastomers for the suspensions are hard to find, and I'm pretty sure you can't get any other aftermarket shock replacement, but I'd ask in the K2 forum below.

Rest in pieces, 756.....

Its got what plants crave
    If it's the only option to get you on the trails, you've got nothing to lose, and you aren't paying any money for it anyway. That said, just about everything ProFlex is super outdated and probably didn't ride great even when it wasn't. I certainly wouldn't put much if any money into that bike, though.
    Ocala Mountain Bike Association - www.omba.org

mtbr member
    you're better off in the long run with the Trek. The company exists so if you have any issues you can at the very least go to a dealer and get taken care of. hope you don't do it. It is more hassle than hand me down. The shop i used to work at would try and help folks with these bikes as well as Softride beams (road) and it is not worth it in my experience.
    politely refuse the offer.

There's no app for this.

antique - parts impossible to find...