Older High End vs Newer Lower End- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Older High End vs Newer Lower End

Hey guys, I am new to mountain bikes and am looking for some advice on my first bike. I am not new to biking though, I have riden BMX bike for 5-6 years and my largest cleared gap was 15 feet.

I am wanting to do a bit of light DH but will probably stick more to XC. I will also be using the bike for commuting so I am thinking about sticking with hardtails.

I am looking at two used bikes right now. One is pretty old but from what I can tell has the better higher-end parts. The other is newer with some parts I have heard are not the greatest. Both are the same price and I'm unsure which would be better. Both sellers say they have used them very little and lightly (of course they would say that). So if they are both in equal condition which would be the way to go??

Both are $500 within Canada with our crazy Canadian prices:
    2009 Kona Five-o: Specs
    2005 Norco Rampage: specs

The Kona has Marzocchi 55 RS, 140mm travel
    The Norco has Marzocchi Z-1 FR3 , 150mm travel

Am I correct to think the Z-1 FR3 is a better fork? The Z-1 FR3 uses a coil and air, the 55 RS is coil but I'm not sure if it also uses air. Since I will be commuting a lot it would be nice to be able to easily adjust the fork by adding or removing air. Is the 55 RS also easy to adjust? Would a pure coil fork be easier to maintain and more reliable?

Also, one bike is an hour drive away in another city so I can't easily take a look at both of them.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    As long as the older bike is in good shape, I would go for it. Riding a mt. bike on the street isn't very fun, especially if you have knobby tires.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Well in my situation I can only get one bike.

I would rather suffer on the streets if it means having more fun on the trails.

I AM I AM