Noob needs HELP choosing a bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2020

Noob needs HELP choosing a bike

Hello! I'm a noob looking for some advice and was hoping you'd be kind enough to help me out

I haven't been a rider in 15+ years and it seems a lot has changed! Now my 5yo has a bike and I want to begin riding with him with the other children in a carrier behind me, as well as go on my own rides as well.
    Terrain is going to largely be roads, greenways, dirt and gravel paths, but I have a feeling I'm going to also want to try my luck on basic mountain bike trails through the woods (there are some within riding distance of home) and that my son will also want to do the same.

I was originally looking at hybrid bikes but the shop suggested I go with mtb. He said hybrid will be better on roads but would not be reliable or equipped enough for rockier trails or wooded trails. But a mtb could do everything, just not as efficient on the road. Figured mtb wouldn't prevent me from doing anything whereas a hybrid would be potentially limited down the road. Would you agree?

I plan to be just a casual rider/exercise rider/ basic mtb'er. I do not need competition level nor will I be doing huge jumps nor will I be entering any races. That being said, I don't want a cheap Walmart bike that will fall apart and also do not need a premium bike either.
    Budget is in the $400-$600 range.

As much as I would like to hop on a bike or a couple bikes and see what kinds of things fit me well in my price range, there are literally no bikes available in my area in my price range. All have been sold and the only ones remaining are premium pro level bikes.

It seems most basic entry level mountain bikes start around $480 to $650 and include models like polygon cascade 4, GT aggressor pro, co-op cycles DRT 1.1, trek Marlin 5, giant talon 3, etc.