Thread: Need Guidance

mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Need Guidance

I currently ride a 2014 Stumpjumper with 130mm travel front and rear. I ride mostly XC but really enjoy small jumps and do the easy trails at the lift assisted bike park. I am looking to get a new bike this Spring. My complaints about the SJ are that it doesn't pedal so great on the XC trails, and that I wish I had a more capable bike for the park. I honestly will never do more than blue trails at the bike park. I don't think I want a dedicated DH bike, as well as the fact that I really can't have more than 1 bike. I realize my needs would ideally be filled by 2 bikes at the far end of the mountain bike spectrum. I know that newer bikes really pedal substantially better that they did 5 years ago. Might it be possible to find a bike that both pedals better than my current ride and handles easy bike parks trails better as well?
    My budget is $2500. I could go new or used. I work as an elevator mechanic, so I don't love tinkering with my bike a lot, I do that all day at my job. I like to get on and ride. And I actually kind of enjoy 1 bike to do it all. My initial thoughts are a great pedalling longer suspension bike, say 160F/140R. Bike shops near me usually don't have much in the way of that type of bike. My friends are all riding xc/trail bikes or DH bikes, so I haven't ridden much in this category. Any specific recommendations?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    What do you mean by "My complaints about the SJ are that it doesn't pedal so great on the XC trails"? Out of saddle climbing, or regular pedaling or ?

mtbr member
    Aug 2014