Looking to buy first real mountain bike - suggestions?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2015

Looking to buy first real mountain bike - suggestions?

I've been riding for about 3 months now with a friend on a $500 GT Outpost hardtail that just does not cut it for anything more than the most novice tracks around our house. I'm definitely ready to step up to a full suspension bike after riding a rented Giannt Stance a few weekends ago.

I have a budget of about $2500, but I could go up to $3000 if I really needed to. I really want to make sure that I can get something that I can keep for a long time and have it handle any trail I throw at it. My friend and I live in Oregon, so we'll mostly be riding Larch Mountain, Sandy Ridge, Mt. Hood Skibowl, Powell Butte, etc on the regular.

I've been looking on Pinkbike for about a month now for a used bike. The only issue is that I need a size large bike (6ft, 185 lbs), and all of the large bikes on there are either 4k+ monsters or retro bikes from the 90s that I have no interest in. The only two that even fit the bill close on there right now is a Giant Trance 27.5 2 for $1900 and Focus SAM 4.0 for $2100.

I went around to three local bike shops yesterday to see if I could get a 2015 model at a big discount. I saw some cool bikes, but the big issue I ran into was that every place only had medium sized frames in the store. So I could sit on the bike, but I couldn't really get a great feel for how it would be to ride. The three bikes I was most impressed with was a Kona Process 134 DL for $3000, a Cannondale Jekyl 3 for $2700 and a Trek Remedy 8 27.5 for $2600. All of them would have had to been ordered.