mtbr member
    Mar 2018

Just purchased a bike...HELP!

Hi guys, I started riding about a month ago purchasing a Diamondback Sorrento DB78 I believe it's the 2011 model (my first bike) which I now understand that I overpaid for. The bike shifts very rough into 3rd 4th and 5th gear in the back to a point where it interferes with the momentum of pedaling. It literally jolts the pedals while I'm pedaling as I switch which feel like a safety hazard. The front has 3 gears and the back has 7. While it's in the first gear up front it's not TOO bad switching the back gears. Once I'm in gear 2 or 3 in the front is when the issue begins. I tried to adjust the back derailleur myself but couldn't figure it out (i know I will figure it out I just need more practice and more patience) so I took it to a local mom and pop shop and got a full tune up. Took the bike out of the shop and realized that the gears switching hasn't improved much. Took it back, told him what was happening, he turned that little knob barrel while pedaling and said it was fine while I was standing right there and noticed through certain gears I heard a bit of rattling. I took it out and showed him how rough it switches, he agreed and said the reason for this is that it's my chain and my cassette that are both worn out and need to be replaced and gave me a $60 estimate and told me he wouldn't charge me for labor...why do I feel like I'm being screwed? Could It be my chain and my cassette that's causing these horrible shifts or is he trying to make more money off of my lack of knowledge? I don't know much about this and am still learning. If it's not those two what could it be? All I want to do is learn to ride, improve and not kill myself while doing it. Any information and help would be much appreciated. Thank you so much for taking the time to read a cry for help from a newb haha
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Just purchased a bike...HELP!-diamondback.jpg  

mtbr member