Hi MTBR folks- Mtbr.com

Thread: Hi MTBR folks

Noob
    Aug 2010

Hi MTBR folks

I'm brand new to the sport and looking for a little advice. I have spent a lot of time researching bikes, and I completely realize that you get what you pay for. Right now I've got a cheap pieced together used bike that i'm using until I can buy a new one (after Christmas). Even then, I'm still only looking at around the $300 dollar range. I know I won't be able to get a true mountain bike for that, but then again, I live in Indiana, so we don't really have a lot of "mountains" here. I will probably not be making jumps more than a foot or two, and it's not particularly rocky. Keeping that in mind, I'm looking at a Diamondback Sorrento hardtail if I cannot find a better used bike at my LBS. Any advice or opinions are welcome.

Thanks,
    Steve

meow meow
    find a way to save up a few more hundred so you can buy a "real" bike. you will be thankful you did.

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Hey bevanse-

Do you mean $300 even as your max or up to $400 as your absolute ceiling on this? I know its only an entry-level ride that you'll only probably use for a couple of years before moving on but still. I'd be careful if I were you as I can't see you really getting anything reasonably decent componentwise at that pricepoint (especially at the $300 end of your range), let alone getting a respectable fork (there's little worse than a cheap, crappy wallyworld-level fork) that will allow you to truly enjoy the learning experience. All of this might not matter as much if you're a lightweight rider on forgiving XC terrain. Otherwise saving a little more might be a good idea. Iif you can swing it, you'll definitely notice the difference as you're learning the ropes.